Dauphin Island 2016

Despite being a very wet spring the Dauphin Island show slipped in between storms and April the 3rd was dry, warm and clear. Perfect weather for a bike show! Our traditional site, the school yard, was full of construction equipment used to build the new wing on the schoolhouse. When it became clear that the yard would not be cleared before the show, arrangements were made to move the show site to Fins' parking lot.  Fins is a local bar about a hundred yards to the west of the school. The owner Mr. Fox graciously offered to let set up shop for the day.  We blocked off the street between the bar and his gavel parking lot and that actually have us plenty of room to display the bikes. We had 88 bikes register for the show which produced $880 for the Dauphin Island PTO. They also had a food concession with local caught shrinp, burgers, Conecuh sausage, and hot dogs. They were busy all day long. The trophies were kindly paid for by our sponsors: Adventure Motorsports of Northwest Florida in Pensacola, Botter Honda in Pascagoula, D&D Cycles in Pensacola, Hallís Motorsports in Mobile, Port City Marine in Mobile, and Powder Coat Junction in Theodore Alabama.  Hundreds of spectators came to see the motorcycles and everyone seemed to have a great time. Hats are off to our organizer Carlos Forte who saw to it that everything went smoothly. Registration was handled by Beverly Moritz (our liaison with the PTO on the right below) and Chris Conover (on the left). Below is a list of this year's winners as determined by our seven judges. Click on the bike's name to see a picture of it.  We tried to take a picture of every bike entered and you can see all of the pictures in the gallery.

Chris and Beverly hard at work

Class First Second Third
Vintage American Gordon Bass, 1947 Indian Chief Ronnie Cox 1942 Harley-Davidson EL Brett Newkirk 1964 Harley-Davidson Pan Head
Japanese over 305cc Mike Thomas 1977 Yamaha SX650 Mike Thomas 1995 Yamaha V-Max James Stadt 1980 Honda 750F
Japanese 305cc and under David Paryzek 1968 Suzuki TC305 Gordon Bass 1966 Honda 305 Scrambler David Paryzek 1970 Suzuki T125 Stinger
European Todd Shuls 1973 Moto Guzzi Eldorado Mike Porter 1965 BMW R60/2 Andy Keiderling 1954 BMW R51/3
  English  Richard Hunter 1953 BSA Gold Star Ron Murphy 1967 BSA Lightning Grayson McGuggin 1973 Triumph Bonneville
Custom Joe Giles Military Trike Fred Veenschoten 2014 Morgan Look-Alike Allan Carroll 2007 Big Dog Mastif
American Cruiser Tim McGee 2012 HD Ultra Classic CVO Mike Layfield 2016 Indian Chief Dark Horse Paul Persons 2003 HD Fat Boy
Metric Cruiser Mike Busbee 2002 Honda VTX 1800 Mike Behm 2016 Triumph Street Twin Gene Macnaughton 2013 BMW GSA
Sport & Competition Mark Davidson 1942 Harley-Davidson 45 Racer Clint Wilson 1976 Hercules GS250 ISDT Pete Peterson 1995 Ducati 900CR
Cafe Racer Ed Blount 1964 Norton Atlas Mike Predmore 1976 BMW 750 Grayson McGuggin 1973 Honda 450
Unrestored original Mike Thomas 1971 Honda CB350 Gordon Bass 1975 Yamaha Enduro Glenn Surpas 1968 HD Hummer
Scooter Tod Shuls 1974 Vespa 150 Herb Weeks 1958 Simplex Ben Bergin 1960 Cushman Eagle

Best of show went to Ronnie Cox's 1942 Harley-Davidson EL "Knuckle Head"

Ronnie's "Best of Show" bike which was ridden to the Island

Azalea Trail Maidens

The Best of show and one of the 36 class trophies. 12 framed Honorable mentions were also awarded.