2009 Fort Condé Show  




The weatherman gave us a clear warm April day. The new site was liked by most of the participants although a twist of bad luck caused both soft drink machines to be on the fritz leaving everybody very thirsty. Fortunately A&B set up their hospitality tent alongside the fort and had hundreds of free bottles of ice cold water for everybody.  The other glitch was that the promised complementary tickets to the museum across the street did not materialize until 12:30 by which time most of the entrants had other things on their minds. We are still learning. We had 71 entrants and earned $560 for the Museum of Mobile which made them very happy.  

The trophies were paid for by generous donations from our sponsors: A&B Honda in Mobile, D&D Cycles in Pensacola, Mobile Cycle Center in Mobile, Retro Cycles in Fairhope, Mobile Bay Harley Davidson in Mobile and Powdercoat Junction in Theodore. Special thanks goes to Danny Weemes and Mike Sullivan who manned the registration desk and Mike Thomason who helped with just about everything.  Unlike Dauphin Island where the PTO people do most of the work for us, this time it was entirely up to the club.  Everybody pitched in and we didn't have any problems.  The Museum people were very happy with the way we conducted the show and how clean we left the fort and definitely want us back next year.  I suspect that we will come back next spring and next year we will make arrangements for on-site food. 

Below is a list of the winners in each class with a link to a picture of the bike. We tried to get a picture of most of the bikes and hopefully have labeled them correctly.  They can be seen in the gallery .  The name of the picture indicates the owner.





Vintage American

Fred Smallwood
1952 Harley Hummer

Jay Platt 
1971 Harley Electra Gld

Glenn Miller
1958  Harley Duo Glide

Vintage Japanese

David Paryzek
70’ Suzuki T125 Stinger

David Paryzek
1972 Suzuki T500

Walter Branson
1976 Honda Goldwing 

Vintage European

Mike Thomason 
1965 Jawa 350

David Paryzek
67’ Harley Sprint

Mike Porter
76’ Moto Guzzi  

Vintage British

Anthony Miller
1982 Hesketh 1000

Jim Downey
1957 Triumph T-bird

Bill Reid
1969 BSA Royal Star


Artie Long
2002 Independance

Richard Dornan
2004 Harley

Larry Weeks 
2009 Harley Bobber

American Cruiser

Primm Scott
2006 V-Rod 

Larry Hagamaker
2003 V-Rod

No entry

Non-Harley Cruiser

Zach Butterworth
1973 Triumph

Russell Brown
1999 Yamaha Roadstar

Reynolds Pierce
2007 Honda Shadow 750

Sport Bike

Scott Goodwin
1989 NC-30

Anthony Singleton 
Suzuki GSX-R

Jack Worrell
1988 NT-650 Honda


Mitchell Ellis
1962 Chang-Jing

Carlos Forte
2007 Moto Guzzi

Maurice Turgeau 
2001 Kaw W-650


Belan Wagner
94’ Honda RS 125

Cindy Turgeau
Cobra 50

Bo Arrington 
Honda MR50

Unrestored Vintage

Mark Falkenhagen
1975 Honda 125s

Jack Yianitsas
1970 Honda CT-70

Dickey Williams
1946 Indian Chief

Motor Scooter

Ray Downey
1960 Cushman Eagle

Kent Stocker
1957 Cushman Eagle

Sue Downey
1959 Cushman Highlander

BEST OF SHOW David Paryzek
1972 Suzuki T500

 Return to MBVMC home page